Will you hold my hand?

When you want to walk 

Standing straight and tall

Down the stairs, Up a hill,

Far away, not far at all,

You take my hand in yours. 

When you feel alone

When it’s late at night

The lights are out

Reaching out,

You take my hand in yours. 

Sitting at breakfast 

Or reading a book

I don’t know why

Or what you’re trying to say

As you reach to take my hand in yours. 

But I feel so warm 

And feel so loved

It changes me for good. 


First day of school?

On your wedding day?

In times of loss?

At my nursing home?
The day I pass?
Will you take my hand in yours? 
A life well lived, joy and hope, if the answer, 

dearest Aria, 

is yes. 

Leave a Reply

