Settling into Deployment

Well it took a week and a half, a few tears, and a little bit of sunshine, but Aria and and I are starting to settle into DH’s deployment. 

The first sign of calmer waters ahead? Time for a walk before heading home for dinner. Thank goodness for the harbingers of summer and for daylight savings giving me an hour to enjoy them!

  
I feel like I’ve been running a marathon since DH left. Keeping pace with planning Aria’s meals, feeding her, and cleaning her bottles, keeping the house calm and clean and organized and doing the laundry and driving Aria to and from school, etcetera etcetera… left me scrambling around at 10 o’clock at night. 

Just in time to address all the work texts and emails waiting for me. Yes folks we’ve already begun planning for the 16-17 school year and the work of the current year is far from done!

And in the midst of this whirlwind, I started to notice something else. 

My favorite times of day was my time with Aria. Unlike our last deployment adventure, this time I’m not alone. 

Instead I’m sitting watching the sunset with my daughter, laughing together at our silly games. 

  

In the early morning, we seem to both get lonely. I bring her back to my room and hold her close until morning, easing her to sleep with the last drops of my mother’s milk. 

I’m so glad to be a mom. Challenging though all the changes may be, it’s cool because Aria and I get to grow up together through this crazy change of having dad way too far away!

I think if we just keep doing our walks and playing our games, we’ll surely make it through. 

  
 

Leave a Reply

