I love the mornings with my family all around me

Right now in this moment I am at the pinnacle of life. My daughter is draped over my lap making the sweet sounds of a newborn dreaming. She half smiles in her sleep and I feel certain that she is as content resting against me as she could possibly be. Her comfort, like her tiny form, warm me in the crisp morning air. I listen to her breathe. It transcends any music crafted for the art of meditation. I am at peace. I am in love. 

My husband notices me awake beside him. He draws himself in close until his body is wrapped around me. He loves holding his family close in the mornings, even if it makes him late to work at times. I feel his love and satisfaction as he drifts back to sleep. His steady breath mingles with our daughter’s – the perfect harmony of two kindred souls. 

This is life. Wrapped in the warmth of those you love. 

How long do moments like these last? How long with my Little Lovely be small enough to lay across my lap? Her head small enough to rest in my hand?

She is so safe, so perfect, so small. I lean close and whisper, “I love you.” It feels more real than anything else I could ever say. 

I think of that song by Adele, where she asks not to be forgotten, where she wishes the best for the one she loves. 

“You know how the time flies, only yesterday was the time of our lives. You were born and raised in a winter haze, born in the surprise of my glory days.

“Nothing compares, no worries or cares, regrets and mistakes, they are memories made. I could never imagine how sweet this bond of ours would taste.

“Never mind, I’ll be there for you. I want nothing but the best for you. Don’t forget me, I beg. Just remember, I said, ‘Sometimes it’s hard in life, but sometimes it’s sweet instead.”

Leave a Reply

