Cute faces

So this officially makes me just like every other parent who seems particularly obsessed with their child. I mean, I’m the past seven weeks I have spent more time staring down at her face than any other sight, face, or thing out there. But really, I don’t have much choice. Having a newborn sort of forces you to be obsessed and you in the end start noticing everything — every change, every new expression. And each one just sets a surge of happiness or humor right into your soul. 

She surprises me with her faces. It makes me laugh. I wonder if my mom felt the same way with my faces? Did she feel the same joy in discovery I feel? 

My dad always talks about seeing my dimples for the first time. I don’t think he realizes how loved that makes me feel. 

My friend Diana asked me today what was the best thing about being a mom. “I’ve heard all the hard things, what’s the best thing?” she asked. 

It was a good question and I did have to stop and think for a while. I didn’t want the best thing about being a mom to be about me. I’m more active, I feel a new sense of purpose, I’ve reconnected with family and friends through this blog and Facebook. But that’s all me. 

Then it occurred to me, the best thing about being a mom is having a new person in my life to love wholly, completely, and unconditionally. 

It’s that deep wonderful love that changed me into a mother, even more than an hour of pushing or sixteen hours of labo or 41 weeks of pregnancy. 

So here are the pics! For the love of my little Aria!    

  

  

 

 

One thought on “Cute faces

Leave a Reply

