Motherhood

I was thinking how I’ve held babies before and that I realize now I was wanting some sort of a connection with them. I would gesture to have them hold my finger or acknowledge me in some way. Now my husband can be on his way to me with my crying daughter and I can just speak and she calms. She knows milk and warm is near. It seems to work both ways. Her sound of hunger lift me from sleep so I can care for her.

It’s not always that way, but it has been a couple of times. And that’s magical. We’re connected, just like we were four days ago as I labored to bring her into the world. What a wonder this motherhood thing is.

Leave a Reply

